Congrats to the Fellow of the Week: Nancy Thompson!

nancy

Why do you serve? I serve because this is my chance to give back in a few communities that provided so much for me when I was in high school. I also serve to advise my students that I am a part of a service that I wish a really took advantage of when I was in high school.

What is the best part of the day at your host site? My favorite part of the day at my host site is seeing the confidence in my students’ faces as they are leaving my office much more confident about their affordable college plan than when they walked in.

Who inspires you? My mentor Dan Buckland inspires me as it was him who introduced me to the importance of working in after school programs and how much of a difference they can potentially make in a young person’s life.

What is your favorite ice cream flavor? My favorite ice cream flavor is Cold Stone’s cake batter ice cream.

What do you love most about working with young people? The thing I love the most is how real they are able to be with me. I love that my students are able to put so much trust in me and are so willing to tell me things that might be making their home-life situation difficult, but accept that it’s necessary to talk about it and figure out a plan in order to move forward and on to college.

Leave a Reply

