Gina Varamo: Fellow of the Week!

gina

Meet Gina Varamo, this weeks Fellow of the Week! Gina serves at Science Club for Girls fostering excitement in STEM topics for girls k-12. She also really loves vegetables!

Why do you serve? Since I was in 6th grade, I thought I wanted to be a journalist. I loved writing, but was always more interested in the public service aspect of journalism. Whatever I did, I wanted to be able to help people by spreading knowledge and telling stories. It wasn’t until I started volunteering as a self-defense teacher during my junior year of college at Girls’ LEAP Self-Defense that I could directly see change. I saw the confidence in young girls grow and grow with each loud “NO” and each elbow and kick. I realized I could skip the middle man of writing stories and hoping someone would read my words. I could jump right into my community and directly help foster positive change. Since then, I haven’t looked back, and plan on entering a long career in nonprofits and working with girls and young women.
What’s your favorite part of your day at your host site?: Absolutely working with my girls. They never cease to amaze me with their knowledge, drive, and maturity. I have no doubt in my mind that my girls will be the leaders of tomorrow, and the scientists that find the cure for cancer.
Coffee or tea: Tea! Green tea with lemon is my favorite way to start my day.
How did you hear about MPF?: During college, I volunteered for a bit over a year with Girls’ LEAP Self-Defense, teaching physical & emotional self-defense to girls 8-18 in the Greater Boston Area. While I was volunteering, they had two different fellows, and I was able to talk to them about MPF, and learn more about the incredible projects they were working on. I knew I wanted to do a year of AmeriCorps service after graduation, and MPF sounded like the perfect fit for me.
What do you love about youth work?: I love how HILARIOUS my teens are. We are always laughing, whether playing games, building rockets, or hanging out for coffee to check-in. They are so smart, witty, and full of life. I could be having a terrible day before program, but I can always rely on them to put a smile on my face and make me laugh. I feel truly lucky to be able to have so much fun in the career path I’ve chosen.

Leave a Reply

