Fellow of the Week: Jenny Fernandez

jennyf
Jenny serves as the Teens Lead @ Work Fellow at The Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety & Health!
1. Who inspires you?
My mom is my biggest inspiration. She’s a single mother of seven and has never let us down and has taught us how to look at the positive and funny side of things. She has always pushed me to do my very best no matter how hard life may hit you. No matter what, she has always brought us out of tough situations. She even gave us two puppies (German Shepard/Huskies) even though she knew she was going to be left taking care of them all by her self lol. I love my mom to infinity and beyond.
2. What is the most memorable moment you have had this year with MPF?
I would have to say the Fall retreat! that was so much fun! Especially the fellow talent show–everyone is just so funny and full of energy.
3. What is your favorite form of self care?
Recently, I have started writing and reading. It’s helped so much to just get my feelings on paper. I run an hour every day so that seems to help me too.
4. Where is your host site located? What do you love most about this area?
The Massachusetts Coalition for Occupational Safety and Health (MassCOSH) is located in Fields Corner in the Dorchester neighborhood.
I love that there are many small offices and eating places. I also really like that there’s a field and park right in the front. This means I can take the Teens Lead @ Work Peer leaders outside for activities when the weather gets warm again.
5. Why do you serve?
I serve because I wanted to help youth be the best versions of themselves possible. I would not be where I am today without the help of so many before me. I believe that success is not about you made it, but how many made it because you did.
Leave a Reply

