Fellow of The Week: Ethan Goldman

photo-16

Ethan serves as the Alumni Coordinator Fellow at America SCORES New England.

1. What is your favorite part about serving with The Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?

My favorite part about serving with The Massachusetts Promise Fellowship is that everyday I feel as though I am a professional athlete playing for my hometown team. I am from Massachusetts and I love Massachusetts and being a part of MPF allows me to represent the greatest state in all the Union in a super cool way.

2. How had a young person inspired you this year?

There have been several young people who have inspired me this year. One example that comes to mind is a girl that takes advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. I’l shoot her a text or email about an upcoming event and nearly every time she is more than willing to come out. She plays two sports for her high school and somehow still makes time to attend nearly all of our alumni programming at SCORES. To put it simply, she is just the exact opposite of lazy.

3. What have you learned about yourself this year?

I have learned that I love working for an organization that does after school programming because the hours are great!
4. How has your host site impacted your career aspirations?

My host site has definitely impacted my career aspirations. Since the beginning of my service year I have felt super at home serving at SCORES and I think that is because this is where my service and passion overlap. For nearly two decades now soccer has been a huge part of my life and being able to share my passion with Boston youth is a great feeling. SCORES has made it possible for me to combine my work and play and now I don’t think I will be able to stray too far from this type of position.


5. What is your favorite snow day memory?

My favorite snow day memory would probably have to be my mom making my sister and I homemade snow cones. We would grab a cup and go outside and fill it up with some fluffy fresh powder and come back in and drizzle maple syrup all over it. I would then just fill up my cup with maple syrup and drink it plain. So I guess my favorite snow day memory would just be drinking a bunch of maple syrup and it was cool to do so because it was a snow day and “anything can happen on a snow day”! (Snow Day, 2000)

Leave a Reply

