Fellow of The Week: Donald Brown

don

Donald Brown serves as The Second Year Freshman Academy Fellow at Fall River Public Schools.

He also serves as The Capacity Building Senior Fellow. 

1. Why do you serve in the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
My time with this organization has truly been a trans-formative experience for me as I can not picture my own identity without taking into account the personal growth that occurred within me as a Fellow.The reason why I serve in the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship is the same reason why I want to teach. I believe in getting involved in causes greater than myself, and my time in the Fellowship has given me just the opportunity by allowing me to act on my believes. I serve with the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship become everyday it gives me the chance to be positive factor, and contribute to the change I want to see happening in the world.
2. What is the biggest lesson you will take away from your years of service?
To me the meaning of service translates into focusing your attention on the needs of others rather than yourself.  One enduring lesson that I have learned from my time as a Fellow has been this, never underestimate the worth of your service because little victories matter. My time as a Fellow with this organization has provided a platform for numerous “lollipop” moment’s with my youth. Just as I can still remember the people who supported me growing up, everyday I serve, the action I take may very well create an  similar impression on a youth which is a powerful revelation for me. My advice for Fellows is that your service as a Fellow matters, and even your minor interactions can be very meaningful in the eyes of another.
3. What is your favorite part about being a Senior Fellow?
I really like getting a “behind the scenes”  perspective of how an organization like the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship operations with our staff, and given the opportunity to contribute to the organization.
4. What are your plans for next year? 
While I already completed my MTEL, and have a preliminary teacher license in Massachusetts, I am not sure if I want to teach in this state right now. I am currently in the process of applying to the Providence College Teacher Certification Program. If I choose this course I will likely sub for a year as I am getting my Rhode Island teacher certification which gives me the opportunity to teach in over 40 other states.
5.If you could be any super hero, who would you be and why?
Iron Man of course! Seriously who wouldn’t want to be like Tony Stark? Case closed.
Leave a Reply

