Fellow of The Week: Jeremy Kazanjian-Amory

jeremy

Jeremy is a First Year Fellow serving at St. Stephens Youth Programs as The College & Career Fellow.

1. What is your favorite MPF memory this year?

There are so many good memories already this year that it is hard to just pick one. What jumps out at me are the two different retreats because of all the experiences and memories that were created there. To be able to spend three whole days with such an amazing group of people was a truly transformative experience. Whether it was sitting in conversation over meals, dancing salsa in the talent show, night skiing at Jiminy Peak, or talking late into the night about the defining issues of out time, both of the retreats served as nourishing experiences both on the body and the mind.

2. What have you gained from your year of service?
I have gained so much from this year of service that it is almost impossible to put into words. First and foremost I became exposed to St. Stephen’s and have gained so much through working here. The relationships that I have developed with the staff and the teens has made me realize how much I love this work, as well as helped me decide to come back and do it again for a second year. In addition to the many relationships that I have forged this year, I have gained so much knowledge and experience working with teens in thinking through their high school process as well as what their journey looks like after. I am extremely passionate about college access and success for low-income students, and this year of service has been a tremendous first step in a hopefully long journey working in this field.
3. What is your favorite part about working with young people?
My favorite part about working with young people has been the opportunity to get to know so many amazing teens and younger kids. Each young person brings with them completely different personalities, passions and dreams, and I love working with them to think through how they can achieve those goals. Whether it is getting into college, passing a class, or simply learning a new skill or finishing a particular homework assignment, it has been extremely rewarding to work with such an amazing group of youth over the past 6 months.
4. What is your favorite form of self care?
 
My favorite form of self-care is exercise in whatever way I can do it. Whether it is running along the Charles river, playing basketball with teens, or playing sports in any capacity, exercise and competition has always been my go to self care.

5. What is your favorite April fools day memory?

I have actually been the victim to many an elaborate Aprils fool prank, as I seemed to be an easy target for a lot of my friends. Without getting into to much detail I will just say that I now have a recurring alert on my phone with no end date.

Leave a Reply

