Fellow of The Week: Jennifer Pamphile

JP

Jennifer is a First Year Fellow serving at Tutoring Plus as The Science & Math Expansion Fellow.

1.Who has been your greatest supporter this year?

I would have to say that my greatest supporter this year would have to be my supervisor. Being part of this fellowship has been life-changing but it has been so difficult to get people to understand what I actually do. It has been great to have a supervisor who not only knows what I’m going through but empathizes with the ups and downs that come with your service year.

2.What has been the most beneficial lesson your have learned from your service this year?
The most beneficial lesson I have learned this year is that it is completely okay to not have everything planned five steps ahead of time. Living in the moment is ok too and giving your 110 percent to the work you are doing at that moment is just as noble as knowing your next move in life. 8 out of 10 times, your plans don’t work out how you want them too anyway.
3.If you could be any celebrity, who would you be and why? 
If I could be any celebrity, I would want to be Matthew Perry because he plays Chandler on Friends and I think that in the grand scheme of life, I am Chandler Bing.
4. Where do you see yourself in the next five years?
I actually do not know where I see myself in 5 years. I would like to hope that I am back in school finishing my degree. I also see myself in a whole new state or even a different country all together being immersed in a new culture, and gaining some sort of grand understanding of the world.
5. Why would you encourage others to serve with The Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
I would encourage others to serve with the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship because it has been one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done. When I graduated from college, I had no clue what my next step was but I just decided to apply for the fellowship. It was the best decision I have made, I have met so many inspiring people and opened my mind to so many new concepts and ways of life. The fellowship has not just taught me the value of youth work, but also the value of those who work in youth work. You will never be in an environment where you are so inspired by the people around you everyday.
Leave a Reply

