Fellow of The Week: Ludia Modi

Ludia_Modi.image_

Ludia is a First Year Fellow serving as The Youth Programs Fellow at The Food Project in Lynn.

1. What does a day at your host site look like?

A typical day at The Food Project from monday-friday consists of curriculum writing, facilitation practices with youth, and youth program meetings. The best day of the week is SATURDAYS!!!!!. On saturdays I have the pleasure of working with my youth. Every morning the youth arrive at The Food Project Lynn office at 9:00am and participate in a 15 min check-in. This check-in involves an overview of the day and check-in questions which allow the youth the opportunity to talk to each other and build on their interpersonal relationships. Once the check-in has concluded the youth and I transition to the farm for a morning work block or staff a volunteer serve and grow session. Once the morning work block or serve and grow session has concluded the youth and I have lunch and then participate in a social or food justice related workshop.

2. What is your favorite form of self care?

I like to think of self care as doing things that nourish my mind, body, and spirt. The one thing that does that for me is mediating/yoga. There are many times that I feel stressed and tense and  mediating allows me to relax my mind.  Reaching this peaceful sanctuary, away from the noise allows me to focus and think more clearly.

3. What has been your proudest moment this year? 

My proudest moment has been seeing a youth in my program blossom into this confident, strong, brave, individual. When I first met this youth she was the shyest person I have ever intersected with and after consistent support she is now joining other organizations around Lynn that are trying to bring fresh produce to Lynn Public Schools. Its amazing to think back to this young women who refused to look me in the eye and is now making videos promoting this organization she is part of. She is becoming an agent of change and making difference in her community. This is my proudest moment!

4. What is your favorite word and why? 

Wanderlust! It means a strong desire or impulse to wander or travel and explore the world. My dream is travel the world making an impact in some shape or form and this word resonated with my soul.

5. Why would you encourage others to join The Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?

MPF is an amazing organization filled with caring adults that are devoted to youth and personal development. You have the opportunity to collaborate with amazing passionate individuals who want to make difference in their communities. MPF fellows bring diverse groups of people together to break down stereotypes and build inclusive community.

Want to be a Fellow like Ludia? Check out Open Positions Here!

Leave a Reply

