Fellow of The Week: Nancy Nguyen

nancycropped

Nancy is a First Year Fellow Serving at Dana Farber Cancer Institute as The DCFI Workforce Development Fellow.

1. What has been your favorite MPF training so far? What is the greatest lesson you took away from it?

I enjoyed Youth Development with Daisy Ortega from Health Resources in Action and strongly recommend taking the Youth Worker Certificate Training with the BEST Initiative!! An overarching lesson is to support the power of young people and “engage youth as resources, not simply recipients of services” (I got that from me handbook).

2. What is your favorite book?

Psalms in the Bible – I just have a lot of feelings!! Life is a roller coaster of emotions so being reminded of unchanging love, changes everything for me.

3. What is your favorite memory from your service year?

Fall and winter retreats were both my favorites for a lot of Fellow bonding and opportunities to recharge. I always left retreats with good memories and inspired with new ideas for different projects aka dance moves.

4. What is your greatest accomplishment at your host site this year?

IDK being awesome? Har har!! I guess the project I spent the most time working on was coordinating our first overnight adventure to the Pioneer Valley for college tours. It was fun seeing my youth form friendships through talking about their college interests and taking selfies.

5. Who made the greatest impact on you when you were a young person?

My younger brother of ten years. A lot of my perspectives on life changed from having him around and it was through him where I learned that my words and actions have an impact on others… sorry Brian for making you cry!! 🙂

Want to be a Fellow like Nancy? Check out Open Positions Here!

Leave a Reply

