Fellow of The Week: Cindy Wong

cindy
Cindy is a First Year Fellow serving at Quincy Asian Resources, Inc.
1. Why did you choose to dedicate a year of your life to service?
I chose to dedicate a year of my life to service because I wanted to gain more experience working with youth. I also wanted to give back to and help develop young leaders in, specifically, the Asian American community, which I think I’ve been able to successfully do with my current host-site.
2. Where do you serve? What is your favorite part about your host site?

I serve at Quincy Asian Resources, Inc., and my favorite part about my host-site is the youth who attend the programs there. I’ve been able to build meaningful mentor-mentee relationships with certain students there, and I’m proud of the hard work and goals they’ve accomplished this year.

3. What does a typical day at your host sight look like?

A typical day at my host-site starts with coming in and answering e-mails and then program planning till lunch. After lunch is when I start to prep for the afternoon when the students arrive for meetings. From then on my day is filled with meetings when my youth and I plan events, have check-ins, facilitate meetings for their peers, or sometimes, they come in just to hang out and ask me about life.

4. What has been your greatest accomplishment within The Fellowship this year?

My greatest accomplishment within the Fellowship this year is being able to connect with so many intelligent youth with amazing and rich backgrounds. While it’s been occasionally stressful being the “Big Sister” to so many youth, it’s also been extremely rewarding to know that I’ve helped make a difference (however big or small) in someone’s life.

5. If you could be any famous athlete, who would you be and why?

If I could be any famous athlete, I would be Tom Brady because I’d be GOAT, to the point where the league I play in is envious of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

