Fellow of The Week: Abbie Weaber

abbie

Abbie is a First Year Fellow serving at Girls Inc. of Lynn as The College Mentoring Fellow!

  1. Where do you serve? What do you love most about your host site?

I serve at Girls Inc. of Lynn. There are so many things I love about my host site, but something I love is that it is a girls-only environment where my teens feel free to be strong, smart, and bold young women, and I feel honored to help provide them with tools to run after their dreams.

 

  1. Who has been an inspiring leader in your life this year?

Someone who has been an inspiring leader to me this year is my (kind of) Aunt Carolyn. She has become more of a mentor to me in these past few years, but really I am just so amazed by all that she is doing with her life and I am really inspired by it. She co-owns a business, is a mother of 7 kids (3 biological, 1 adopted, and 3 foster daughters), wrote a children’s book to help parent’s teach their kids about sexual assault/abuse and have open conversations, as well as launching a non-profit surrounding the topic of the book and speaks to educators and parents about educating and talking to children. She is also just a genuine person who is so intentional with every aspect of her life and really seeks to bring out the best in those around her. I really believe that there are great leaders all around us that we can learn from, and my youth have been that for me as well this year.

  1. What has been the most rewarding part about your service this year?

I think the most rewarding part of my service year has been seeing all 20 of my seniors get accepted to college, most of them receiving scholarships and aid allowing them to have to pay little for school. They have worked so hard this year and it has been so exciting to get to celebrate with them for their accomplishments. Although I am going to miss them so much next year, I can’t wait to see where their futures lead!

  1. Why are you choosing to serve a second year with The Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?

Serving with MPF this past year was the best decision I could have made because I had the opportunity to build on professional skills, grow as a social justice agent, and be a part of a fellowship with some of the most caring, well-rounded, and youth and justice focused people. I am excited to stay on for a second year with MPF because I want to continue to grow and give back to this community as a leader, as well as continue to make program developments and improvements at my host site.

  1. What kind of people do you believe MPF attracts?

I think that MPF attracts individuals who are social justice minded, caring, adaptable, committed to service, dedicated to the community, and those who believe in the abilities of youth. And I believe they are people who are willing to grow and learn to become even better.

Leave a Reply

