FELLOW OF THE WEEK: CLAIRE KAISER

Claire FOTW

Claire is a First Year Fellow serving at Tierney Learning Center as the After-School Coordinator Fellow!

1. Why did you decide to do a year of service?

I decided to do my year of service because I felt like I really needed to switch gears and I knew that I wanted to work with young people. I had known about MPF for a couple of years and finally decided to apply. The stars aligned and here I am!

2. What project are you most looking forward to this year at your host site?

Right now I have a lot of exciting ideas in the works but I’m most excited for the Rubbish to Runway ReFashion show that we’re hopefully going to be attending in October (Nicolette, the Fellow serving at NU Marine Science Center, told me about it!! Hooray for networking!!). Our plan is to attend the show and then do our own back at my host site! A lot of my teens have expressed an interest in fashion design so this is such a cool way to connect design with sustainability and environmental awareness.

3. Who inspires you?

I’m inspired by my pen pal, Stephanie. We met while I was working at a bakery in high school and we’ve been friends ever since. She just turned 92 and has the most positive attitude, the most resilient spirit and the kindest heart of any person I’ve ever met. I’m so lucky to know her! (Also she’s 4′ 4″ and freaking adorable. Here is the first selfie she ever posed for…

Claire and Penpal

)

4. What do you do to practice self-care?

I love to eat and I try to find time to cook delicious food for myself. It makes me so happy to make and share a meal with people that I love! COME OVER AND MAKE PIZZA WITH ME!!

5. What is your dream job?

My dream job would be to run my own theater program for at-risk youth. The performing arts were so instrumental in my development as a person and I’ve watched so many young people benefit from being involved in music, theater and dance. I want to use my (future) Non-Profit Management degree (THANKS NORTHEASTERN!!), my experience as a youth worker (THANKS MPF!!) and my theater background (THANKS MOM AND DAD!!) to bring the arts to kids that may otherwise not have access to them.

Leave a Reply

