FELLOW OF THE WEEK: CAMERON FEAR

unnamed

Cameron is a First Year Fellow serving at Health Resources in Action as The 84 Movement Fellow!

1. What are you most looking forward to this year in MPF?

What am I looking MOST forward to?! There are so many things I’m excited about, I can’t only name just one!
-The 39 new best friends I just made in the Fellowship
-All the incredible people I will be meeting (whether it be other Fellows, Fellow alums, folks at Health Resources in Action, other youth workers, etc.) and all the perspectives they will bring to my life and work
-Monthly meetings with MPF, so that we can continue having the necessary discussions around cultural competency and youth work
-Working with the amazing, talented, and intelligent youth on the Statewide Leadership for The 84 Movement
-Working alongside the 84 Team: learning from them and taking on all the challenges that come our way
-Being part of an organization that is doing incredible things state and nation wide to challenge health disparities
… just to name a few

2. If you could send a message to the entire world, what would you say in 30 seconds?

Love yourself. Love each other. That’s all it takes. Love is the most transformative justice.

3. What accomplishment are you most proud of?

One unforgettable experience for me was when my college rugby team took 2nd place at Nationals. It was a truly amazing accomplishment because the previous year, we lost almost all of our games and were certainly not favored to make it half as far as we did. We were really able to accomplish all we did because of our ability to come together as a team and persevere. I will never forget the lessons I learned from that season.

4. How do you celebrate all of the good things you have in life?

I really like to say thank you and give a lot of verbal affirmation to the people around me who make my life great because they truly are the reason for the goodness.
But also, I really love to dance.

5. Growing up, who was your greatest role-model and why? 

My nana and papa were my role models growing up. They can’t be separated because together they shaped my life in so many different ways. My nana was a fiercely autonomous woman who was not afraid to speak her mind. She was the first strong female role model in my life. My papa dedicated his life to social justice. He worked in some of America’s most impoverished inner-city neighborhoods in Chicago and East St. Louis; he organized communities in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia; he established health clinics for migrant workers in the San Joaquin Valley; he trained Head Start teachers and Vista volunteers. He worked to elevate the voices of those who would not be heard otherwise. He always used to say, “I accept everyone at face value, not mine but the one they choose to present me.”

My nana inspired my feminist mindset, while my papa inspired my desire to pursue social justice and activism. I owe a lot of who I am today to the both of them and am forever grateful for the impression they made.

Leave a Reply

