FELLOW OF THE WEEK: KELSEY DIMOND

unnamed

Kelsey is a First Year Fellow serving at MathPOWER- Yawkey as The Resiliency Fellow!

1. What inspired you to do a year of service?

Before I decided to do a year of service, I was working in a corporate bank and was not feeling fulfilled professionally or emotionally. I always wanted a job I could be passionate about and I knew that serving for a non-profit would be challenging, but worthwhile. I was ready for a change, to do something that aligned with my values, and to be inspired! Serving for MPF has allowed me to do all of that and I will always be grateful to have this opportunity.

2. Describe what your favorite project will be at your host site this year.

I just started with my youth this week and I am so excited to be working with them and watching them grow and succeed not only in their math work, but also in their social lives! Middle school can be a tough time and I’m really happy to give them a safe space and time to make a relationship with a college student Tutor Mentor! So far it has been really exciting to see them connect with their tutor mentors and persevere in solving their math work!

I’m hoping to show the students that math is in everything—dance, music, cooking, sports–everything they love to do can somehow be related back to math, and so they can use their other passions to better understand their academic work and vice versa!

3. What aspect of your personality adds the most value to the world? 

I really try to be a nice, caring, and genuine person. If I see someone I know I say “hello”, I acknowledge them, I listen to them, I smile— because it can be that easy to let someone know you care, and you never know how much it might mean to them. I think being genuinely nice can go a long way in making the world safer. If I tell someone I am going to do something, I do it, because I know they have placed their trust in me, and I want to show them that I care.

4. When you think of MPF, what immediately comes to mind?

Passion and hard work. Every Fellow is super passionate about their work with their youth and social justice issues. Everyone is willing to work very hard to help their youth and help make positive change in the world.

5. What is the greatest lesson life has taught you so far?

“This too shall pass.” No matter how big the problem seems, how dire the situation appears, it WILL get better in some way. Everything changes. If you look back even just a year ago at your life, could you have imagined this? Imagine what another year might bring.

Leave a Reply

