FELLOW OF THE WEEK: CARLEEN COLIN

39639ebf-579b-4863-a134-392643ddb829

Carleen Colin is a Second Year Fellow serving at West End House as the Academic Support Fellow

1. Professionally and/or personally, what do you hope to gain during your second year of service with MPF?

Professionally as well as personally I am gaining and will continue to gain more insight on myself as an individual and as a youth worker. This year has already opened my eyes so much and we’re not even half way in yet. I also hope to gain more reflection on the skills that I am lacking and build a positive repertoire of other skills that I didn’t really think I could achieve beforehand.

2. What skills and knowledge have you been able to carry over from your previous service at the Brockton Mayor’s Office to your service now at West End?

Being in the Mayor’s Office last year really opened up my views on certain laws and social work stand points for when it came to inner city youth. I’ve used a lot of the skills and youth team building activities that I used during my time with the Brockton Youth Council. Also from my time there, I am able to speak up a lot more now and actively use my resources, which is something that I really had a hard time with and tried to grow and focus on at the Mayor’s Office.
 3. When you were a youth, who was the most influential person you had in your life?
The most influential person in my life was and still is my mother. She has always been my motivation to do more and be more in this life. She has done so much and given up so much for me to get where I am today. Growing up and seeing how much faith and love she has even when her days are gloomy always left a warm feeling in me. I do what I do to make her proud and to let her know that nothing she has done for me has been in vain. She is my rock and inspiration. Yes, we drive each other crazy from time to time but I’m always reassured that our love for each other is everything and I love that the most.

4. What is the best part about working with young people?

The best part for me is connecting with so many different personalities. They are all so different in so many ways and it’s amazing how the smallest thing can form the strongest bond between us. They are hilarious all the time and can hold deep conversation when needed. They keep me on my toes and they are part of the reason I smile at life so much.

5. Describe the next five years of your life, and your plans, in a single sentence.

In the next five years, I will have an established blog, finish all my graduate studies, have standing dinner dates with MPF alum and be continually happy with the person I am becoming every day.
Leave a Reply

