FELLOW OF THE WEEK: ASHLEY TESTA

Ashely T

Ashley Testa is a First Year Fellow serving at the City of Brockton Mayor’s Office as the Youth Development Fellow 

1. What do you hope to gain from serving with MPF?

I hope to be a caring adult the youth need; that the youth I work with will become more self-confident and achieve the goals they want to set for themselves.

2. What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?

A social justice issue that I am most passionate about is mass incarceration and reentry reform. There are many reasons why I am passionate about this, but here are a few:

  • “With only 5% of the world’s population, the U.S. has more than 20% of the world’s prison population – that makes us the world’s largest jailer.
  • From 1978 to 2014, our prison population has risen 408%.
  • One in 110 adults are incarcerated in a prison or local jail in the U.S. This marks the highest rate of imprisonment in American history” (ACLU, 2015).

ACLU. (2015). The Prison Crisis. Retrieved from https://www.aclu.org/prison-crisis

3. What is your dream job?
My dream job would be to help work on policies for prison reform and to become a professor of criminology and/or sociology.

4. Share a story about how your service made an impact at your host site so far this year.

A story that has made a impact on me is when my youth and I held an Open Mic Night for all the youth of their city. All the youth were so excited to be there, to be able to express themselves in a safe place, and they did not want to leave!

5. How do you practice self-care?

One thing I love to do is listen to music in the morning while getting ready for the day. It helps me to become energized for the day and it gives me a chance to do something I love to do in my free time.
Leave a Reply

