FELLOW OF THE WEEK: ERIN GINNATY-MOORE

Erin

Erin Ginnaty-Moore is a First Year Fellow serving at Tutoring Plus of Cambridge as the Middle School Program Fellow

1. What inspires you to serve?

I’m inspired to serve by my students. I really love youth work.  I volunteered in college with an organization that led service/leadership trips for high school students, and I served as a Minnesota Promise Fellow with the Minnesota Youth Council.  I enjoy getting to know the students I serve.  I really love to hear about their lives, and get closer to them.  I’ve met some really amazing students who I enjoy seeing at programs.

2. What is your favorite part about serving at Tutoring Plus?

As a staff, we like to nerd out about a lot of different things!  I love that we are silly and weird and unafraid to show that we are nerds, and model that for our students!
3. What has been your biggest personal or professional accomplishment so far this year?

I have learned a lot about myself this year.  Moving across the country, starting a new service year, and all the little details that that entails.  I am most proud of myself for making this change and trying new things.  I have grown a lot through this Fellowship, both professionally and personally.

4. What is your dream job?

That is a tough question!  I have a lot of dream jobs.  I would love to be a senator, mange a youth council, be an executive director of my own nonprofit.  I want to be a real life Leslie Knope (minus the hatred of libraries), and work hard to promote and better my community.

5. Describe the greatest adventure of your life.

I have a tie!  The first is MPF.  I didn’t know anyone before I moved to Boston.  This is the farthest away I have been from my family.  I have met some wonderful people and really found a family with MPF and Tutoring Plus.  It has made this whole adventure less scary and more exciting.
My other great adventure was in 2009.  My baton twirling team became world champions for baton twirling.  We competed in Ghent, Belgium.  It was the first time I had left the country, and I went with my entire team, our coaches, and our families.  I think we had about 75 people all traveling around Europe.  It was one of the best trips, and greatest accomplishments of my life.
Leave a Reply

