Fellow of the Week: Darrell Anane

 

IMG_2240

 

1. What are you most looking forward to in your second year of service (either at your host site, monthly meetings, etc.)?

My students are in the middle of their college application process right now, and that’s a really exciting time for both them and me. For many of my students, this is the first major coming-of-age moment they’ve experienced, and for me, this is probably where I have the clearest perspective on my impact. Sometimes when my students get acceptance letters in, I get more excited than they do. Those moments are what I look forward to the most.
2. How have you grown so far as a youth worker since last year?

Staying on for a second year has helped me narrow down my focus and identify the issues that I am most passionate about. Our MPF trainings touch on trauma, ableism, gender discrimination, restorative justice, and a whole host of other topics. Having a second year to figure out where I want my work to fit into that landscape has made a big difference in planning my next steps.
3. What has been the most beneficial training you’ve had that has helped you become successful in your role?

The workshops on ableism may not have been the most strongly connected to my current role, but they still stand out the most in my mind. I’ve always been interested in disability and labor rights, and the trainings we had gave me a new perspective on those issues.
4. What is the funniest thing a young person has ever said to you?

One of my students once told me that he is a Lakers fan. At times, I still laugh thinking about it.
5. Describe the next five years of your life and your plans in a single sentence.

“For anything worth having one must pay the price; and the price is always work, patience, love, self-sacrifice- no paper currency, no promises to pay, but the gold of real service.” – John Burroughs

Leave a Reply

