FELLOW OF THE WEEK: LINECKER DA SILVA

d1686345-445b-4617-b20e-d49d9329781d

Linecker Da Silva is a First Year Fellow serving at ZUMIX, Inc. as the Pathways Coordinator

1. What inspired you to serve with MPF this year?

Having been a participant at my host site, ZUMIX, when I was younger, I figured serving with MPF would be a perfect opportunity to give back to a community and organization that has given me so much throughout the years.

2. Describe your dream job and how MPF can contribute to your future career aspirations. 

My dream job would be directing feature films. I’m not entirely sure how MPF could contribute to this aspiration, but I think one of the most obvious (and most useful) ways would be networking—meeting the right people with the right connections.
3. Share a story of how your service, so far, made an impact at your host site. 

When I began the tutoring/mentoring program in the Fall of 2015 with a couple of successful matches, I think ZUMIX began to see a more tangible example of our youth striking a balance between their education and their artistry. Though it still has a way to go before it’s the “norm,” I think that those particular examples serve as proof to our youth that it is possible to be respected as a good musician and a good student, that they’re not mutually exclusive, and they’re both really cool.

4. How do you practice self-care? 

My version of self-care revolves a lot around doing things that I find relaxing, entertaining and creatively satisfying; watching movies, playing video-games, listening to and making music, and contributing to my blog (short stories, screenplays, drawings, comics, etc.). Because I serve at a place like ZUMIX, where art and creativity is bouncing off the walls 24/7 non-stop, it can sometimes be easy to lose yourself in everyone else’s projects and neglect your own. So I always try and remind myself to make time for my own projects and wield that inspiration whenever it strikes to turn it into something I can be proud of and share with others.

5. What animal best describes your leadership style and why? 

I would say my leadership style is best reflected in a hybrid between an Eagle, a Chameleon, and a Wolf (I don’t know if that’s allowed…) I consider myself someone who likes to view the big picture before honing in on a specific vision and what it takes to get it done; but I also like to keep quiet and watch from the sidelines to get a clearer picture of my surroundings and happenings; and I also go back-and-forth between working alone and working in a team, relatively comfortable in both settings.
Leave a Reply

