FELLOW OF THE WEEK: MOIRA CORMIER

Moira Cormier

Moira Cormier is a First Year Fellow serving at Crossroads for Kids as the College and Career Fellow

1. What has been your favorite memory so far while serving with MPF? 

Although there are tons of incredible memories I could choose from, my favorite memory so far would have to be when I brought my youth to UMass Amherst for a tour and two workshops. This is my favorite memory because it felt amazing bringing my young people to my Alma Mater, a university that has helped shaped me into who I am today. My young people met the Dean of Humanities and Fine Art, The Assistant Provost of Diversity and representatives from the organization Student Bridges. They were so engaged throughout the day, asking questions and sharing their stories, that each of them walked away with a deeper interest in attending the university! Such a huge success! And we had the best pizza in town… Antonio’s!

 

2. What inspired you to do a year of service?

What inspired me to do a year of service was the young people that I have worked with. Having had a lot of experience working with youth, specifically youth from Crossroads, I have been able to learn a lot about the work that I was doing and about myself. This passion for working with youth inspired me to do a year of service and join a network of people who have the same passions that I do. I was inspired to do a year of service because I love learning from young people, and a year of service has allowed me to do just that.
3. Who is your biggest role-model and why?

My biggest role model is Kara Allen. Kara is the President and CEO at United Friends of the Children in LA. Growing up, Kara was my Team Leader at my summer camp where she taught me and my class leadership development skills. After she left the program I was part of, she went on to get two masters degrees and her doctorate. She always was and will always continue to be one of my biggest role models because two summers ago I was in her same role, at the same organizations that she was as my Team Leader. I felt like I was following in her footsteps and to see her continue to learn, grow and succeed, has inspired me to do the same thing. Who says I can’t?

4. What is the funniest thing a young person has ever said to you?

 

One of the funniest things a young person has ever said to me was when one of my students told me I was weird. He said, “You know what Moira? You’re weird.” To which I replied, “Thank you! I take that as a compliment.” He said “Good! You should take it as a compliment because you’re weird just like me… and I LOVE IT!” I could not stop laughing!!

5. What is your dream job and how has MPF contributed to your future career aspirations?

That Massachusetts Promise Fellowship has opened up a lot of doors for me. I am so very passionate about my work with young people, and helping them to make college and career success a reality and MPF has given me this opportunity. Throughout my life, I have always wanted to do everything and I could never really land on what my dream job is. To this day, I can’t say what my dream job is, but I can say that MPF is helping me figure out what that is. Through my work with my young people and the powerful workshops and trainings we have, I know I want to continue my passion for youth work while I continue to challenge myself in any and every opportunity.
Leave a Reply

