FELLOW OF THE WEEK: SAMMY WONG

03d844be-ebd3-486a-a7d1-cd368b77803d

Sammy is a First Year Fellow at Boys & Girls Clubs of Boston as the College Readiness Fellow 

1. What inspired you to serve a year with MPF?

Generally, I was inspired to serve a year with MPF because I had decided to do so when I was in high school. More specifically, I received a lot of help from programs that were managed by organizations similar to MPF and I greatly benefitted from them. Since then, I decided to work towards being on the giving end.

It is worth noting that this is my second year with AmeriCorps and my third year serving in general. I initially served with City Year Boston and loved it. This is mainly because of the huge emphasis on being part of a team. My year with City Year was a great working experience, especially because I want to work in education. My second year was with a local high school, where I provided tutoring services.

As for what inspired me to serve a year with MPF… I learned about MPF from my supervisor in City Year, who had a roommate that went from being a City Year corps member to a MPF Fellow. My supervisor shared some of his roommate’s experience with that transition and one thing that he mentioned had resonated with me. While service with City Year is team-oriented, service with MPF is more individual-oriented. This appealed to me since I wanted to get that type of work experience under my belt.

2. What is your favorite part about serving at your host site and why?

My favorite part about serving at the Yawkey Club of Roxbury would be its people and the environment. The youth, mainly the teens, are by far the most inspiring ones that I had ever worked with. They are always looking to learn and to become better. I just know that they will become future leaders. The staff is super supportive. They make sure that you are taken care of in so many ways. For instance, you will never go hungry again if you worked here… NEVER!! They make sure everyone gets fed.

On a more serious note… Youth and staff alike, they make sure that you grow from your mistakes. They provide a safe space that allows you to make mistakes and then give you advice on how to be better next time. This is something that I very much appreciate.

3. How have you grown both personally and professionally this year?
 

As I had mentioned before, one of my biggest reasons for serving with MPF was to get that individual-oriented work experience under my belt. With this in mind, I feel that I had grown a lot professionally. This is the case as I was tasked to develop and implement two programs that aim to get youth thinking about and getting into college.

4. How would you describe your dream job?

As I had mentioned before, I greatly benefitted from programs that were managed by organizations like MPF. One particular program literally changed my life to the point where I can comfortably say that I do not know where I would be if it was not for them. With this in mind, I would describe my dream job as being in a position that can make a significant impact on youth.

 

Leave a Reply

