FELLOW OF THE WEEK: SUZANNE METRO

Suzanne

Suzanne Metro is a First Year Fellow serving at Asian Community Development Corporation as the Youth Entrepreneurship Coordinator

1. What are the benefits of being a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been if you took advantage of those benefits (Ex. courses at NEU, FAM, NPLI, trainings, etc.)? 

I’ve been so lucky to be able to take advantage of the benefits offered by MPF, from free classes at NEU to the Fellow Alumni Mentoring program, but by far the best part of MPF is the “Fellow connection.” Connecting with past and current Fellows has allowed me room to make great, meaningful friendships, but also access to an incredible network of resources.

2. Describe a project at your host that gets you most excited to do youth work and why.

My pride and joy is See-Town Walking Tours, a youth-run business that promotes the history and culture of Chinatown through walking tours. I hired three youth managers this year to run the business, and I could not be prouder of what they have accomplished in the last five months alone. Everyday I am impressed by their dedication to their community and to their peers, and I’m not sure they could even begin to understand how much I have learned from them.

3. What do you do to practice self-care?
By a landslide, bubble baths are my absolute favorite thing that keep me sane. Even better if it’s accompanied by some good music and reading!
4. Describe your greatest adventure.
My greatest adventure would be to drop everything and suddenly disappear into a country that I’ve never been to before. Preferably somewhere warm, since these springtime snowstorms are getting pretty old.

5. What has been your favorite memory so far in MPF, either at your host site or monthly meetings?

It may seem simple, but playing Bananagrams at my host site with my youth in Asian Voices of Organized Youth for Community Empowerment (A-VOYCE) and ACDC staff will always hold a special place in my heart. The game really does bring us back down to earth when we are caught up in constant project planning. I love that A-VOYCE youth and ACDC staff always make a point to step back and take that time to just spend quality time together.

Leave a Reply

