FELLOW OF THE WEEK: JOHNATHAN MCFARLAND

Johnathan

Johnathan McFarland is a First Year Fellow serving at Railroad Street Youth Project as the Jobs and Careers Coordinator 

1. Share a story of how your service has impacted your host site or youth this year.

During the first couple of weeks at my host site, I was a mess, constantly being worried if I could achieve the goals and expectations that were set by MPF and what I set for myself. In the first meeting with my supervisor, I described these emotions and doubts to her, and she had three words that I will never for forget; “caring loving adult.” As simple of a concept, but as effective as anything I have done during my service year. That has been my biggest impact in my host and in my community.

2. What has been your favorite memory this year with the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship (either at your host site or monthly meetings)?

An event that is most memorable from my service year would be at my host site holiday party because my deputy director and I lip synced, “Wannabe,” by the Spice Girls.

3. What are some things you do to practice self-care?

The best way that I practice self-care is to leave my work at work and make time for hobbies, regardless of what is going on at my host site or an event.
4. Who has been your biggest support this year?
My biggest support this year would be my amazing supervisor, Caitlin Hugel. I met her when I started attending my host site early last year and she told me about the opportunities that MPF can offer. Throughout this year, she has always been there for me as a professional and as a friend.
Leave a Reply

