ALUMNI OF THE WEEK: INE OGAGAN

23b8948d-e32f-4a27-a598-6ef86cb30843

 

Ine Ogagan is a MPF Alumna who served in Class IX with the City of Fall River Youth Services Department. She is currently working as a Clinical Social Worker at Boston Medical Center in the Emergency Department. 

1.What is your role now and what transferable skills from your experience in MPF are you able to bring to your work today? 

I currently work at Boston Medical Center in the Emergency Department as a Clinical Social Worker.
My experience in MPF shaped and molded me into the leader and professional I am today. From learning how to implement and create an after school program from scratch to presenting and meeting with high profile individuals such as the mayor, superintendent, police chief to name a few. Honestly, I think one of the biggest transferable skills I learned in my experience with MPF was what it looked to be supported and be supportive of others. I was blessed with a great supervisor, team of people, and youth to serve while fulfilling my year of service at my site in Fall River, MA. The lessons I learned from those relationships are priceless and are carried with me on a daily basis.

2. Describe your favorite memory (memories) in the Fellowship and why was it so meaningful to you?

The retreats and trainings that would take place when we met as a group. During this time relationships were built, things were said that were politically correct and not so politically correct. More importantly it was a time to come together to learn about ourselves, each other, and how we can be the change we want to see.

3.  Describe your favorite memory (memories) in the Fellowship and why it was so meaningful to you.

It’s not really one memory, but serving as a Senior Fellow with four other incredible women was something I still cherish to this day. Though our lives have taken us down different paths or directions, I learned so much from their strength, resilience, and ability to foster meaningful change. I’m still so fortunate to have their support and guidance.
4. What inspired you to do a year of service?

I had moved back to my hometown after graduating from Howard University in Washington, DC and was certain that I would be moving back to the District at some point. While at Howard, I was able to go to New Orleans twice for Alternative Spring Break to assist with the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. The experiences in New Orleans changed my life forever and introduced me to what it meant to serve. Once I realized I was not moving back to DC, I came across the MPF opportunity and decided to apply. Reading the description was so invigorating, I just knew I had to be a part of it. It was exciting, challenging, and I knew it would push me out of my comfort zone. I had my interview and the rest is history 🙂
5. What was your proudest accomplishment during your years of service? 

Creating the program Promise Leaders of Tomorrow (P.L.O.T.) during my year of service and finding out that it is still going strong after all these years and being chosen by my fellow MPF’s to be the graduation speaker.

6. If you can share any words of wisdom to current Promise Fellows in regards to their service today or post-MPF, what would you say? 

“Always remember who you are serving. It’s so easy to get caught up in numbers, funding, politics… Remember who you are there for, besides your values, let that always be what centers you. Lastly, never lose that fire in your belly because once you do, your passion has gone elsewhere.”

Leave a Reply

