Fellow of the Week – Emma Chavenson

img_7637Emma is serving her first year at uAspire Boston office.

What inspires you to serve?
 I’m inspired by people who persevere, even when they have everything going against them. The youth we serve want nothing more than to succeed and be the change this world needs. These youth are determined, independent, and focused, and I see that to be one of the most admirable things about serving.
What is your favorite part about serving at your host site?
 I love my fellow advisers I work with. They are constantly teaching me new things and open my eyes to what hard work can do in terms of this work. I love how driven they are, and I only hope that through this experience I can be just like them.
What has been your biggest personal or professional accomplishment so far this year?
 The outreach to students and communities spreading the word about uAspire has been extremely rewarding. By doing this, we have given the students more options, and guide them with all the right resources.
What is your dream job?
 Working in a college providing students with learning differences the academic accommodations they need in order to succeed.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
 I have been so incredibly fortunate to visit places like Italy, Greece, and Panama. I have also served communities in Roanoke, Virginia and Asheville, North Carolina. However, this past June, I braved the 6,289′ elevation climb that is Mount Washington, a part of the White Mountains in New Hampshire. It definitely wasn’t easy, but between the views, the people I climbed with, and the sensations we felt when we made it to the top, it was well worth it.
Is there anything else you would like to add about yourself?
 I LOVE peanut butter, and people
Leave a Reply

