Fellow of the Week – Caitlin Shea-Vantine

image1.jpg

Caitlin is serving her first year at the Northeastern Marine Science Center

What inspires you to serve?
I’m inspired to serve because of the girls I serve. The girls at Girls Inc. are so full of life and curiosity. The world needs people to care about it and I’m proud of the girls I serve who take that initiative.
What is your favorite part about serving at your host site?
I have a unique host site because I split my time between the Northeastern Marine Science Center and Girls Inc. of Lynn. One of my favorite things about both sites is the people I get to work with. The youth I serve and continue to meet really have been incredible. Their passion and hope drive me to work towards my highest potential. There is a real magic when girls work with other girls to make change happen. Whether it’s a change in attitude or finding something you are passionate about, each day is awesome. (Side note: I also love that every day I get to talk about ocean conservation and often explore Lynn and the greater coastal area.)
What has been your biggest personal or professional accomplishment so far this year?
I’m proud of the fact I have been able to get people from the surrounding community involved with the Beach Sister program as guest speakers.
What is your dream job?
What a tough question! I want a job that I look forward to each morning. I have been lucky to find several jobs where I can bring my passion for conservation to the office every day. Right now, I would say my dream job would be bringing marine and environmental education to folks who have had little to no exposure to these topics.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
 Every day is the greatest adventure.
Is there anything else you would like to add about yourself?
 Strangers are friends you haven’t made yet.
Leave a Reply

