Fellow of the Week – Hanh Lam

img_9647
Hanh is serving her second year at Regional Environmental Council
What inspires you to serve?
I am inspired to serve because I know how important this kind of work is for our communities and our young people. I love serving in the Worcester community I grew up in, and especially working with young people from the very same community. As a teenager I benefited a lot from the mentors who served before me, who helped guide me onto pathways of success. Therefore, being able to go full circle in my community, give back and inspire others is what drives me to do the work that I do.
What is your favorite part about serving at your host site?
 My favorite part about serving at my host site is working with my young people on college access, going on college tours and having fun monthly retreats throughout the school year. On those days, my youth bring a whole new vibe/ energy to what would be my planning and organizing 9-5 office work day.
What has been your biggest personal or professional accomplishment so far this year?
 As a second year fellow, I feel that my biggest personal and professional accomplishment thus far has been getting through my first year of MPF. I really thank my supervisors, co workers, fellows and MPF for helping me push through the obstacles I faced and to want to go through another year with the fellowship.
What is your dream job?
 My dream job is be the host of a travel show, traveling the world eating, and participating in different cultural foods and experiences. I want to be the female version of Anthony Bourdain, because just like men, women take risk too!
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
My greatest adventure has been traveling back to Cambodia in 2007 to visit one of the original Seven Wonders of the World, Angkor Wat. I traveled with my father who pushed me to dabble in street food (even though I got sick), eat really delicious insects, meet local people, and embrace my culture. Although I felt out of place as an Asian American tourist, it was really a great experience to see the beauty of the Cambodian Kingdom, the good and bad!
Is there anything else you would like to add about yourself?
 I’m a fun loving spirit, who takes everyday as a gift. But someone who also spends a lot of her stipend on shoes. It’s a bad habit, but it’s so rewarding!
Leave a Reply

