Fellow of the Week – Erin Ginnaty-Moore

img_8656

Erin is serving her second year as a Senior Fellow, and her first year at MathPOWER

What inspires you to serve?
 My kids! They are amazing and funny and challenging and complex and smart and so so sassy! I love the time I spend with them and watching an activity I planned come to life with my students.
What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?
 I am passionate about finding ways to amplify voices of underrepresented communities because that is leadership becomes more diverse, people become more understanding, and decisions are made that takes the whole community into consideration.
Why would you encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
 It is a wonderfully challenging experience that provides a vast network of passionate individuals who share similar passions. Also, the two classes I have been a part of are where I met some fantastic friends I will have for a long long time. The pizza at monthly meetings is an awesome perk as well 😉
Who has been your biggest support this year?
 I can’t pick just one person! My parents will always be huge support systems, but also MPF staff, my fellow senior fellows, my supervisors from this year and last year. I feel very lucky to be part of such a supportive organization!
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
 I’m in the middle of it! I moved to Boston last year knowing no one here and created a professional and personal support network. This is the first time I created a home as an adult. I have learned so much about myself and am excited to keep living this adventure.
What do you do to practice self-care?
 I find communities of passionate people and go to as many events as I can for them. I LOVE MPF monthly meetings, going to GLOW events, and talking about social justice issues. I also binge watch shows on Netflix. On November 25 you will find me on my couch watching the new Gilmore Girls episodes!
What benefits have you been able to take advantage of as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been with those benefits?
 Last year, I was part of the nonprofit leadership institute (NPLI), and the Fellow Alumni Mentoring program (FAM). I also took CPS courses, and still am. I am working on a masters in nonprofit management. I have tried to take advantage of every benefit MPF has to offer because it has made me better in my service role and helped expand my professional network.
How is MPF preparing you for your future career aspirations?
 The training at monthly meetings expands my professional skill set, I have met so many people through MPF. Also, MPF sets up the program to have you think about your next steps from day one, so I have been able to use my years here to hone skills that will make me competitive when I start My job search.
Is there anything else you would like to add about yourself?
 To quote Drake: last name Ever, first name Greatest 😉 And I LOVE cheesy dad jokes, so if you see me, please tell me a delightfully awful pun!
Leave a Reply

