Fellow of the Week – Georgia Lederman

img_5722

Georgia is serving her first year with Enroot in Cambridge.

What inspires you to serve?
I am inspired each morning by the idea that Enroot, my host site, helps students understand and develop their strengths, their uniqueness, and their power.
What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?
I see inequality in education as fuel for other social justice issues including economic injustice, racism, public health and more. Conversely, I see tackling the chasms in our education system as a way to empower marginalized communities, amplify subjugated voices, and influence economic and racial justice.
Why would you encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
MPF is a fantastic way to explore the world of Youth Work, Education, and the Nonprofit sector while simultaneously developing professional skills and delving deeper into important aspects of an intensely flawed education system. Fellow fellows and staff create a critical community of support while we navigate these issues together.
Who has been your biggest support this year?
My friends from High School, my friends from Oberlin College, my fellow Fellows (specifically my small Advising group), my Enroot supervisor and coworkers, my amazing sisters and parents, and the MPF staff. Thank you.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
As a sophomore in College I had the opportunity to travel to Rabat, Morocco, to volunteer in a small school. One simple but amazing part of my adventure was training with my host-sisters Miriam’s prize-winning rugby team. We had so much fun!
What do you do to practice self-care?
I run, I cook and plan healthy meals, I play music, and I take time to be alone and just be.
What benefits have you been able to take advantage of as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been with those benefits?
I am participating in the Nonprofit Leadership Institute as well as the Fellow Alumni Mentoring Program. I will also be participating in a valuable Youth Development Trainings suggested by MPF. NPLI has provided an incredible space to analyze host-site dynamics and to think about a future in the nonprofit sector. I also consider our monthly trainings to be extremely valuable.
How is MPF preparing you for your future career aspirations?
MPF is helping me decide where I fit into the world of education. I am continually assessing whether coordination and administration or classroom teaching is right for me. MPF has helped me make connections, network, and broaden my understanding of the scope of education and youth work.
Leave a Reply

