Fellow of the Week – Ashley Gordon

image1

Ashley is serving her first year with Health Resources in Action – The LEAH Project

What inspires you to serve?
Helping my youth gain college and career readiness skills that will prepare them for a successful future.
What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?
I am most passionate about racial inequality because it is something that I face in my life. My hope is that one day all people will be treated equally, no matter the color of their skin.
Why would you encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
 I would encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship because there is a lot of support from MPF staff, fellow Fellows, and MPF alumni. MPF also offers many professional development opportunities including monthly meetings and a Nonprofit Leadership Institute, which help prepare you for the workforce.
Who has been your biggest support this year?
My biggest support this year has been my fellow Fellows. I can talk to them about anything, and they know the right things to say to make me feel better. As Fellows, we experience similar things, and it is great to have a network of 40 people you can talk to.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
My greatest adventure was when I went to Athens, Greece during my junior year of undergrad. It was a completely new culture, new language, and new food. I enjoyed exploring there and learning more about Greek mythology and modern day Greek culture.
What do you do to practice self-care?
To practice self-care, I go to the gym and workout.
What benefits have you been able to take advantage of as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been with those benefits?
 I have had many opportunities as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow. One opportunity that I took advantage of was the free courses that are offered through Northeastern’s College of Professional Studies. I have taken several courses now and they have been very helpful in allowing me to understand the operating of a nonprofit organization. I also took advantage of the nonprofit leadership institute taught by MPF staff. It allowed me to better understand my leadership style, and how that impacts me in the workplace.
How is MPF preparing you for your future career aspirations?
MPF prepared me for my future career aspirations by providing me with the opportunities to learn about the nonprofit industry, as well as youth development. The professional development opportunities and the things I have learned during MPF meetings have allowed me to be more well-rounded and provided me with tools that I can bring to the workplace.
Leave a Reply

