Fellow of the Week -Fillette Lovaincy

FullSizeRender

Fillette is serving her first year with Girls Inc. of Lynn

What inspires you to serve?
I had such positive experiences in after school programs and youth programs and gain many resources. But I love the connections I made, and I want to pay forward that positive experience I had to my youth.
What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?
Representation because it’s one thing to tell youth they can be and do anything but actions speak louder than words; if they can see someone that looks like them or comes from a similar background, succeeding it makes the confidence and belief they have in their goals and dreams that much stronger.
Why would you encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
It’s a great mix of the best aspects of the professional world. Lots of professional development, working with youth is fun, energetic and keeps you young. The work is so rewarding and important, your making an impact and often don’t realize it.
Who has been your biggest support this year?
My fellows, my supervisor and staff at my site.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
This year! The last year of undergrad and leading up to graduation, I didn’t fully know what to expect or what I was going to do. I was super nervous about this, but it’s been great.
What do you do to practice self-care?
I take time to my self to recharge and recenter. All day I get pulled in different directions it can be draining, so some alone time to binge watch Netflix or go out to eat with friends.
What benefits have you been able to take advantage of as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been with those benefits?
Furthering my education, taking grad school classes and participating in NEU grad school events/group. As well as making connections with past alumni.
How is MPF preparing you for your future career aspirations?
I want to go into student affairs and higher education. Everything from the trainings, workshops, networking etc all have aided me into my future career. My FAM Mentoring working in student affairs, the NEU connects have connected me to other grad school fellowships and students in Higher Edu. Programs.
Leave a Reply

