Fellow of the Week – Winnie Wang

20170315_104023

Winnie is serving her first year with Boston Public Schools – Office of Human Capital

What inspires you to serve?
I serve because I love youth! I love all the conversations and laughs I get to have with them. Not only do I get the chance to share my experiences with them, I also get the chance to grow in my knowledge of how to care for different students. I also love Boston and nothing compares to giving back to the community that shaped me to become who I am today.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
The greatest adventure of my life is studying abroad in Sydney, Australia. It was the first time I was away from home for an extended period of time. I learned and experienced so much! From petting kangaroos to finding the best sales while grocery shopping to driving on the other side of the road, I created many unforgettable memories.
How can MPF help you reach your long term goals?
MPF has prepared me tremendously for my future career and long term goals. Through MPF’s partnership with Northeastern, I’m currently taking courses to obtain a graduate certificate in Higher Education Administration. At my host site, I’m able to experience and understand the work of educators in the Boston Public School District. My goal is to eventually work as a school counselor or social worker in the city of Boston. My year with MPF and at my host site have given me the opportunity to connect and build a network of educators and school leaders that I can reach out to in the future. I am also able to dedicate my time doing college check-in’s with high school students, which is helping me to develop my skills as a future educator.
What do you do to practice self-care?
I practice self-care by resting and sleeping! I also love baking and trying new recipes 🙂
Leave a Reply

