Fellow of the Week – Thi Tran

Thi_FellowGear

Thi is serving her first year with e. inc – the environmental science learning and action center

What inspires you to serve?
I see many needs in the world and AmeriCorps Massachusetts Promise Fellowship was a way for me to fulfill some of the needs that I could offer. Personally, I wanted to explore educating and being able to be the lead of a teen program that focused on environmental conservation and being concerned citizens was exactly what I needed for my first year out of college in terms of the training opportunities and how I would be able to push my boundaries of who I am as a person and learn more about subjects I cared about. Another amazing opportunity is being able to serve in Fields Corner, Dorchester, which was pretty much next door to where I grew up (Savin Hill) and giving back to these teens means that much more.
What social justice issue are you most passionate about and why?
Environmental stewardship as well as Human/Women’s rights. These issues have always been on the forefront of my mind. Growing up as a female, I experienced first-hand many injustices and want all people to feel that they can go in any profession and see someone similar to them as a role model in that field. As for environmental issues, stewardship just made sense to me. The environment does so much for us that we don’t even realize and we need to be the voices to protect these environmental services and see more to its value as more than just its economic worth.
Why would you encourage others to join the Massachusetts Promise Fellowship?
YES! Who doesn’t want a guaranteed solid group of 40 amazing and inspiring fellow fellows?! ❤
Who has been your biggest support this year?
This year goes to my three sisters (2 sisters and my god-sister) and my loving boyfriend! They have helped me through the most intense transition of my life – post-college life, moving into my first apt and adulting, and my experiences with AmeriCorps.
Describe the greatest adventure of your life.
My greatest adventure was going to Panama for a semester at college and being able to explore 8 out of the 9 provinces of Panama. Being able to have those experiences and being with two indigenous communities really was life-changing and I learned so much about myself. From having close encounters with bullet ants, to seeing humongous moray eels, to getting lost in a mangrove forest, here’s to Students for International Training (SIT Panama)!!!
What do you do to practice self-care?
Jamming out to Illenium, yoga/exercise, taking long walks
What benefits have you been able to take advantage of as a Massachusetts Promise Fellow and how has your experience been with those benefits?
 The networking opportunities! FAM! Classes at NEU! I love my fellows and having a Mentor (through FAM) has been such a huge role in my experience with MPF and there is just so much support from Katie’s end and I very much so the connection we are able to have through MPF.
How is MPF preparing you for your future career aspirations?
MPF has given me many trainings that are very relevant, eye-opening, and necessary to youth work. Through these trainings and increased network of people going through the same transitions mentally, I am able to work with a large, diverse team that is focusing on the larger goal – bettering ourselves and being committed to youth work. Leading a group of funny, hardworking, overall amazing people makes me want to serve them to the best of my ability and continue in youth work.
Leave a Reply

