Fellow of the Week: Melissa Moore

Melissa currently serves at the Margarita Muñiz Academy!

What inspired you to serve with MPF and what are you most looking forward to this year?

I was inspired to serve with MPF because I wanted to support the educational and social growth of young people. I believe support and advocacy for young people – in academics and beyond – is so important, and I want to provide that.

What does a typical day in the life of a MPF fellow look like?

I spend most of my day working directly with students or supporting teachers in the classroom. I work with a small group of ninth graders for extra academic support every day. My afternoons are spent with students in HW Help, Book Club, or Anime Club.

What do you appreciate about your host site?

My host site cares deeply about the students and about making the school a safe and inclusive space. I appreciate how much the administration is working towards anti-racist education and to provide the students with a variety of learning opportunities and styles so everyone is supported.

What are your plans after MPF and how is doing a year of service helping?

I will be attending law school after this service year, where I plan to concentrate in public interest and advocacy law. This service year is helping prepare me to work in social justice and giving me knowledge of advocacy.

What is your favorite part of working with youth?

I think one of the best parts of working with youth is the moment where, after frustration and self-doubt, they have the realization that they are capable and intelligent. Seeing their faces light up and the weight leave their shoulders is such a wonderful thing.

What is your favorite way of practicing self-care, especially during this service year?

I’m working on reading every day for at least 30 minutes before bed, making sure I don’t use my phone during that time. I also believe exercising is a significant form of self-care for me.

If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?

Maybe a panther or a lynx? Some kind of wild/big cat.

Leave a comment