Women’s History Fellow Spotlight : Jaimy Jean-Noel

What is your favorite part about working with MPF?

I love being able to serve youth! It’s also great to connect with so many great people through MPF- every single Fellow is so amazing in their own way.

Who are some women that inspire you?

First and foremost, my mother – taught me everything that I know. My friend Josey inspires me every day with her strength. My cousin Francesca inspires me who is a single mother who continues to do her best. Lastly, my mentor, Colleen has been my biggest cheerleader as I continue on my professional career.

What challenge(s) remain for women today? How can understanding history help us to overcome them?

I feel like one of the biggest challenges women face today is discrimination based on gender. We still do not even get paid as much as our male counterparts though it can be argued that we work the hardest. A lot of our efforts and capabilities are constantly invalidated because of the particular society that we live in. I would love to see the day where issues like these are a thing of the past. I feel as though once we as a collective people come together and adequately acknowledge women’s contributions we are taking a step in the right direction.

Leave a comment