Fellow of the Week: Jaimy Jean-Noel

Jaimy (she/her/hers) is a second-year fellow serving as a PUSH College Success Coach at Freedom House!

What inspired you to serve with MPF and what are you most looking forward to this year?

I was looking forward to being a part of a new Host Site and the opportunity to grow.

What does a typical day in the life of an MPF fellow look like?

Meeting with and chasing down students! A lot of program planning and providing support for other organizational initiatives.

What do you appreciate about your host site?

They are aligned with a lot of my values. They also care a lot about my personal wellbeing and overall personal and professional growth.

What are your plans after MPF and how is doing a year of service helping?

I plan on re-entering the workforce being that I will be done with my master’s degree from NEU. My year of service aids in this because I am able to take courses for free. There are also opportunities for PD and mentorship which will help me to further solidify post-graduate plans.

What is your favorite part of working with youth?

I love their energy. They’re super intelligent and full of character.

What is your life motto/ mantra/ affirmation?

“You are capable.”

What is your favorite way to practice selfcare, especially during this year of service?

I spend time each day catering to myself instead of making it a once-in-a-while thing. It can look like anything from taking longer showers to cooking myself a good meal.

If you were an animal, what animal would you be?

Girrafe

Leave a comment